Urban Composting with the Daily Dump

I’m not sure how I first learned about the Daily Dump, but it’s one of the first places I checked out when I first moved to Bangalore five years ago. I wasn’t yet ready to begin composting, but it certainly intrigued me. Now after composting at school with the children for the past few years, I’ve finally got a system underway at my home in Bangalore thanks to Daily Dump’s khumba system!

We began with the starter kit (there’s a terrific one for children now, too!). The friendly folks at the Daily Dump called us regularly to check on how things were going for the first year or so. It comes with everything you need including a thorough, terrific little handbook to get you started.

Things were going rather smoothly until a couple of weeks ago I noticed some creatures were crawling in my compost pot. At first I was excited because I thought they were worms, which makes excellent compost. But then after consulting with my favourite composting guru, Maya, I learned they were maggots! She recommended using ash to get rid of them, although I also learned from the Daily Dump’s troubleshooting website that you can use a combination of neem powder, turmeric, and microbes to handle the problem.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to get rid of them, however, because they speed up the break-down of the food waste quickly and since it’s summer there is so much bulky stuff in the pot like watermelon rind and mango pits. I was actually able to reduce it a bit using the Daily Dump’s method. Even better: I learned so much about the role the maggot plays in helping your organic waste to decompose!

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 9.12.38 PM

I went back to the Daily Dump over the weekend to get some more Remix powder (which helps to cut down on smell and break down the waste) and to get a new kambha for excess compost that still needs more time to decompose. It was rather quiet so I took some photographs. I love the way this place is set up because it has so much educational material all over the walls to help people see the various problems with waste and their role in it. I should say, our role in it.

One thought on “Urban Composting with the Daily Dump

Leave a Reply

