Hygiene and cloth pads

One of the most common reasons for resisting cloth pads that I hear is: “it’s not hygienic”. People have been telling me that the blood will leak through the first layer of cloth and when you wash it, you won’t be able to get out the blood from the previous layers. That’s why Goonj’s project Not Just a Piece of Cloth does not stitch their pads; it makes it easier for you to clean all the layers.

I decided to challenge this perception. I took 2 different EcoFemme pads–1 day pad and 1 night pad–that I’d been using for the past 2 years. I cut them open in the middle to see if there is any leakage. I must say I was also surprised at the results!

There was not 1 drop of blood stain that could been seen through any of the layers of cloth. So if you follow EcoFemme’s cleaning instructions there should be no fears that you’re going to be using a less hygienic product than a disposable pad.

Watch here to learn how to save the planet and save money at the same time if you haven’t started using it already! At my school there are already over 50 girls who have made the switch in the last 2 years!

EcoFemme has a lot of other resources as well that I encourage you to check out:

♼ Download a menstrual cycle tracking chart

♼ Learn about traditional Tamil plants that help heal menstrual symptoms

♼ Learn yoga poses to help relieve menstrual symptoms:

Leave a Reply

